The Yacht Racing World Championships

The Rolex Maxi 72 World Championship for 2017 was claimed by Dieter Schon from Germany, and the crew of the Momo. The Momo was holding onto a 2.75-point lead on the last day, with Dario Ferrari, and the Cannonball right behind them. The Momo was declared the winner by one point, after two windward-leeward races. The Bella Mente was the defending champion, and Hap Fauth, the Vice President of the International Maxi Association won the first race of the day. The second race was claimed by George Sakellaris and the Proteus.

Sir Peter Ogden sailed in the windward-leeward with on the Vrolijk 72 Jethou, and completed a perfect score line. Thomas Bscher, the President of the International Maxi Association competed in the Wally Class, and finished in first place. Second place went to David Leuschen, and the Galateia. The victory was over Ferit Sahenk, and the Nahita for five points. As the owner of the WinWin, Kim Schindelhauer placed first in the Super Maxis, defeating Filip Balcaen, and the Baltic 112, Nilaya. Salvatore Trifiro, and the Ribelle placed second in the Super Maxi.

Sir Irvine Laidlaw, and the Highland Fling XI was the overall winner in the Maxis. Carlo Puri Negri is a multiple past winner, and claimed the honors in the Mini Maxi Racer Crusier 1 with the Farr 70 Atalanta II. The overall victory went to Roberto Lacorte, and the Vismara 62 SuperNikka. Benoît de Froidmont’s Wally followed by two points. The overall winner in the Mini Maxi Racer Cruiser 2 was Riccardo De Michele’s Vallicelli 80 H2O. This ended the tie with Giuseppe Puttini, and the Swan 65, Shirlaf that lasted for a week.

When Thomas Bscher, the President of the Yacht Rolex Cup, talked about the week, he was pleased. He proclaimed the week fabulous, the conditions good, no big waves, no swell, and strong winds. He was happy with the organizational side, and believes the officials deserve support because he wants them to return, and see the number of boats increased.

The prizes were awarded by Gian Riccardo Marini, the President of Rolex Italy, Riccardo Bonadeo, the YCCS Commodore, Princess Zahra Aga Khan, His Highness the Aga Khan, and Thomas Bscher, the IMA President. Will Apold, Sorceress’s owner was awarded the Commodore Alberini Perpetual Trophy. The top scoring members of the IMA included Riccardo De Michele, in the Mini Maxi with H20, Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, in the Wally with Magic Carpet, Flip Balcaen, in the Super Maxi with Nilaya, and George David, in the Maxi with Rambler.